Who’s Who


Company appointed Trustees

Colin Blanckenberg

Chairman: Board of Trustees
Occupation: Legal Consultant DBGS
Division: DBGS
Age: 74
Qualifications: LLB

Gloria Lekalakala

Zahir Astrie

Occupation: Finance Manager: Technical and Sustainability
Division: DBGS
Age: 44
Qualifications: B.Com (Acc), ACMA

Craig Coltman

Occupation: Pensioner
Division: Not Applicable
Age: 58
Qualifications: National Higher Diploma: Cost and Management Accounting,
B Com (Honours): Financial Management,
Chartered Management Accountant

Member elected Trustees

Roger Ketley

Occupation: Pensioner
Division: Not Applicable
Age: 67
Qualifications: CIS Diploma / Higher Diploma in Company Law

Wayne Smerdon

Occupation: Senior HR Manager, Employee Relations
Division: DBCM HR
Age: 55
Qualifications: BA (Soc Sci)

Dinesh Bhana

Occupation: Pensioner
Division: Not Applicable
Age: 62
Qualifications: B Compt (Hons), Post Graduate Diploma in Investment Planning, AGA (SA)

Arthur Hewett

Board Committee Members

Audit and Risk

  • CJ van Zyl (Chairperson) (Non-trustee)
    Occupation: Principal Operational Risk Management
    Division: DBGS – Technical & Sustainability
    Age: 49
    Qualifications: MSc Eng, GDE Mineral Economics, BCom Fin Mng, NHD Met Eng
  • EI Blignaut (Non-trustee)
    Occupation: Senior Manager – Human Resources – Venetia Mine
    Division: De Beers Managed Operations
    Age: 47
    Qualifications: BA, LLB, ADL
  • DD Meyer (Non-trustee)
    Occupation: Accountant
    Division: DBCM Finance
    Age: 34
    Qualification: Honours in BSC
  • W Endersby (Trustee)
  • Z Astrie (Trustee)


  • CJ Blanckenberg (Chairperson)
  • W Endersby
  • C Coltman
  • RW Ketley

Communication and Education

  • WJB Smerdon (Chairperson)
  • CJ Blanckenberg
  • AP Erasmus
  • RW Ketley

Benefits Review

  • CJ Blanckenberg (Chairperson)
  • RW Ketley
  • Z Astrie
  • WJB Smerdon


  • WJB Smerdon (Chairperson)
  • CJ Blanckenberg
  • RW Ketley
  • Z Astrie


Stanley Mathonzi

Principal Officer

Steven Beangstrom

Benefit Society Manager

Kobus Badenhorst

Chief Operating Officer

Alida Le Roux


David Datnow

Secretarial and Communications Manager

Tracey-Lee Snyders

Financial Manager

Cornel Wiese

Office Manager



David Datnow


Deidre Kruger


Chairmane Motto Ros

Magdalena Pienaar

Claims and Enquiries

Karen Muller


Dalene Langenhoven

Maxine Cader

Senior Claims Assessor

Newreen August

Erica Pieters

Charmaine Anthony


Juanita Brink


Verna Benjamin

Leemor Williams

IT & Office Administration

Cornel Wiese

Andrew Boraine

Candice Starr

Diane Mushet

Pascalia Berend

Back to Top